top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenn | Dual Crossroads

Who is Metatron?

Updated: Apr 22, 2022

Metatron, the Prince of Presence
Metatron, the Prince of Presence

Depending on which Judeo-Christian tradition you are referencing, there are said to be anywhere from three to thousands of archangels, though only seven are referenced by name in ancient texts. In Roman Catholicism, Judaism and Islam, there is Michael and Gabriel. Raphael is a third Archangel who is recognized in some Christian and Catholic denominations. There are references of a fourth Archangel named Uriel. The remaining archangels mentioned in the Book of Enoch are Raguel (aka Sealtiel), Zerachiel (aka Saraqael, Selaphiel, Barachiel, or Sariel), and Remiel (aka Jerahmeel, Jehudiel or Jeremiel).

Apart from these primary seven figures, there is mention of another archangel by the name Metatron. Although he isn't canonical within all the faiths, Metatron (aka Meetatron, Megatron, Merraton, and Metratton) is mostly referenced in Jewish Rabbinical literature as well as non-canonical Kabbalistic mystical texts. He can be read about in the Books of Enoch (specifically in the Third Book of Enoch), and in some passages of the Talmud.

Metatron, the Man-Turned-Archangel

Before we learn about Metatron, we must learn about who he was before he was an angel. Metatron was once the human prophet Enoch (who is the great-grandfather of Noah, to whom the Book of Enoch is ascribed to), and that he is one of the only two humans to ever be transformed from man to archangel. The other man-turned-archangel is the prophet Elijah, who became the archangel Sandalphon – but that is a story for another time. The point is, humans are unable to become angels or archangels, so this was a great (and uncommon) honor granted by God.