• Sara

Introduction to Crystal Healing

Updated: Apr 30, 2020

The Basics

Everything in existence is made out of energy and vibrates at different frequencies.

Vibration refers to the movement of atoms and particles. Frequency is the rate of vibrations and is measured in hertz (Hz).

For example, color is the frequency of visible light. It ranges from 430 trillion Hertz (which is red) to 750 trillion Hertz (which is violet). Humans have long associated our perception of different colors with the energy centers of our bodies.

What are the Chakras?

The Chakras were first alluded to in the Vedas, a collection of ancient Hindu knowledge written in India between 1500 and 1000 BCE.

The word “chakra” is derived from the Sanskrit word meaning “wheel." This so-called "wheel" is believed to regulate the distribution of life force energy (sometimes referred to as Qi or Prana, amongst other names) throughout the body. These energy centers are identified using the 7 primary colors of the rainbow.

The 7 Chakras

There are a multitude of minor Chakras within the human body, but the 7 primary Chakras exist along the midpoint of the body- the spine. Starting at the root, the Chakras alternate spinning clockwise to counterclockwise and ultimately to end with a clockwise spin at the crown.

When you are out of alignment, the Chakras become energetically stagnant and this is where dis-ease arises. The 7 Chakras have been associated with the health of the endocrine system, which is the network of glands that produce, regulate, and distribute hormones throughout the body. It is believed there is a correlation between the energy flow of a Chakra and the health of the gland associated with it. The following statements can be used as a mantra in mediation to optimize your overall health and wellbeing.

Root chakra (1st)

  • Reproductive glands (testes in men; ovaries in women); regulates sexual development and secretes sex hormones

  • Color: Red

  • Statement: “I am”

Sacral chakra (2nd)

  • Adrenal glands; regulates the immune system and metabolism

  • Color: Orange

  • Statement: “I feel”

Solar Plexus chakra (3rd)

  • Pancreas; regulates metabolism

  • Color: Yellow

  • Statement: “I do”

Heart chakra (4th)

  • Thymus gland; regulates the immune system

  • Color: Green

  • Statement: “I love”

  • Note: the minor heart chakra is in the palm

Throat chakra (5th)

  • Thyroid gland; regulates body temperature and metabolism

  • Color: Blue

  • Statement: “I talk”

Third Eye chakra (6th)

  • Pituitary gland; produces hormones and governs the function of the previous five glands; sometimes, the pineal gland is linked to the third eye chakra as well as to the crown chakra

  • Color: Violet

  • Statement: “I see”

Crown chakra (7th)

  • Pineal gland; regulates biological cycles, including sleep

  • Color: Purple

  • Statement: “I understand"

What is the connection between Crystals and Chakras?

Crystalline frequencies are believed to energize and align the Chakras of the human body. Crystals of the corresponding colors of the Chakras are placed on the body to stimulate energy flow. In other words, the frequencies emanated by crystals trigger the energy centers of the body into motion.

Lesson: How to use a pendulum to check the flow of energy

Pendulums are an important tool used in crystal healing. Pendulums should be used before and after crystals are placed on the Chakras.

Before crystals are placed, a pendulum is used to determine how energized a Chakra is currently. The pendulum will rotate in a circle and the size of the circle will indicate how freely energy is flowing. A smaller circle means less energy than a larger one. If the energy is stagnant then the pendiulum may not rotate at all.

After crystals are placed on the body, a pendulum is used to energize. This is done by intentionally spinning the pendulum above each Chakra. This movement in conjunction with the crystals will stimulate the flow of energy in each Chakra. While doing this, you can recite each of the Chakra statements as a mantra. To check that a Chakra has been healed, bring the pendulum steady and check to see the size of the circle's rotation and if it has increased in size which signals healing.


For example- say a friend has recently remarked feeling less confident than usual and easily distracted. In an effort to help, you offer to do a pendulum reading of her Chakras. This initial pendulum reading shows an energy blockage in her Sacral and Solar Plexus- the pendulum hardly spun. You offer your friend a Tiger's Eye tumble stone. Tiger's Eye is a stone associated with both the Sacral and Solar Plexus and encourages motivation and alleviates distractions. The next time you see your friend, a new pendulum reading of her Chakras shows an improvement in the flow of energy through her Sacral and Solar Plexus. She says she brings the tumble with her daily in her pant's pocket. 

63 views0 comments

1005-B Mission Street, South Pasadena CA 91030    |    626) 399-0795    |    info@dualcrossroads.com


 Phone Readings are available! Online Orders Available for Curbside Pick Up.

Call Us at 626-399-0795 if there is something you need but don't see online!

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Yelp - White Circle